Tuesday, 2 July 2013

7 Stages of a Healthy Relationship

Dont Let Me Go....

There are usually 7 stages of a healthy relationship. Relationships are dynamic. A static relationship is boring and can lead to the relationship breaking up. Most marriage problems and partnership break ups can be traced back to misunderstanding where we are in this dynamic marriage or relationship development.

No relationship on Earth can flourish if no effort is put in.

Feelings are fickle. Expecting feelings by themselves to keep a marriage together is unrealistic.

Conflicts are natural hurdles in our way, but they serve a important purpose. We grow, mature and become better people in the course of resolving and working through conflicts. It is the process of resolving conflicts which improves our character and helps us to bond. Remaining in conflict is a sign of emotional immaturity and those couples who get stuck in a conflict stage fail to mature.

These stages a sequence, except for the conflict stage where the couple go in and out of during their life. When a child is born or when we are hit by those things life throws at us we go back into this stage and then bounce forward. Each successive conflict is easier to resolve as we learn from each one.

The process is dynamic, you are in one stage or another at any phase in your lives. You could move through them very quickly, or get stuck in one for a long time. Understanding these stages helps build a strong relationship and prevents relationship destroying misunderstandings.

As long as you understand these stages or phases in your relationship and are moving through them you are developing, strengthening and maturing a healthy relationship. There is no right or wrong path, each couple have their unique dynamic how they travel through these interpersonal relationship stages. It is only if you get stuck in a conflict stage and are unable to move on that there is a danger for marital problems. The key in any marriage counselling or marriage self-help is a healthy insight into and acceptance of the dynamics of these stages in a healthy relationship.

Another thing necessary to be aware of is that a woman’s brain is more dynamic than aman’s. A woman’s brain changes from a single woman seeking a mate, to a mate/best friend and to a mother’s brain after bearing a child. A woman’s brain undergoes greater development during her adult life than a man’s.

Stage 1: Infatuation

Infatuation is wonderful, a fervent excitement, passion, butterflies fluttering in one’s stomach, but is it Love? Not by definition. Read more here about infatuation.

Stage 2: Reality About Love, Disappointment, Disillusionment

This stage brings an end to infatuation. This is where relationships really begin. Read here what Love is. Lovers become each others best friends. This is the stage when you start to get really close and learn the reality about love.

Stage 3: Conflict Stage or Crisis Stage

The Conflict Stage is an important, if unpleasant part in any relationship. By learning to resolve conflicts and working through problems we grow and mature. This is often a make or break stage in the relationship. Read more with the warnings on the Conflict Stage.

Stage 4: Second Honeymoon Commitment and FriendshipStage

The Second Honeymoon Commitment or Friendship Stage is the point in a relationship when couples reach a new level of intimacy with depth and stability. Read more about the Second Honeymoon

Stage 5: Child Stage

The child stage in a relationship happens when someone (a baby) or something like a career, hobby, sport or any other activities comes between the couple. Read more about this Child Stage.

Stage 6: MidLife Crisis, Seven Year Itch

Midlife crisis is half-time in life’s game. Here we explain the mystery that makes middle aged men behave like teenagers with a seven year itch. read more about the Midlife Crisis.

Stage 7: Older Relationships, the Third Honeymoon, Mature Intimacy

In older Relationships the seventh stage in a healthy relationship is their third honeymoon, this is the real thing with intimacy that only mature trust can bring, as you can read in the Third Honeymoon.

No comments:

Post a Comment